This is the "Home" page of the "Database List" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Database List  

Last Updated: Sep 30, 2016 URL: http://libguides.methodist.edu/list Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Use 360 Link to Find Journals

Search for Journal Titles

Browse Journals by Subject

Browse Journal Titles

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L MN O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

Off Campus Access

To access databases (and streaming audio, video, etc.) from off campus:

  1. Click on the name of the database you wish to use.
  2. A login screen will appear requesting your MU email user name (everything before the @ symbol) and your MU email password.
  3. Fill in the information, and click "Submit query."

If you need help with your MU email user name and password, please call (910) 630-7300 Monday-Friday during the hours of 8 AM - 5 PM. You may also send an email to help@methodist.edu. Please include your MU student ID number in your email message.

For assistance using any of the databases provided please call the Reference Desk at (910) 630-7123 or  email a librarian.

 

360-Link

With 360 Link, quickly and easily connect users to full-text content within your library collection and link to extended resources for advanced research.

The full-text article may not be available in the database you are searching but with 360 link you can

  • Check in another database
  • See if we have the article in print
  • Be prompted to go to Interlibrary Loan

A

  • ABC-CLIO E-book Collection  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Digital collection with over 7,000 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger
  • ABI Inform Collection  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    Contains ABI Inform Dateline, Global, and Trade and Industry. 4,000+ full text titles;
  • Access Physiotherapy  Icon  Icon  Icon  Icon
    This resources provides access to 20+ books related to physical therapy, cases, drug information, and multimedia clips.
  • Access Science  Icon  Icon  Icon  Icon  Icon
    AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines. An award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge, it offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers
  • Accounting & Tax Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Accounting research database, proving centralized access to top journals, reference reports, proceedings, dissertations and more, including over 2,300 publications with hundreds in full-text
  • Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy  Icon  Icon
    Acland's Anatomy provides a comprehensive look at the human body and how it moves. Dr. Acland narrates the video clips of skeletal models, live models, and cadavers. Exams are available after each volume to test your knowledge.
  • ACS Web Editions  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Indexes 30+ peer-reviewed, full-text chemistry titles
  • African American Poetry  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    3,000+ poems written by African Americans in the late 18th and 19th centuries
  • Agricola  
      
      Icon
    Materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, forestry, and animal science; 3.6 million records from 881 sources;
  • American Poetry  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    40,000+ poems by 200+ American poets from the Colonial period to the early 20th century
  • AMA Style Manual (American Medical Association)  Icon  Icon
    Full-text of the AMA Style Manual. This style is used by the PA and athletic training programs.
  • Amrisys  Icon  Icon
    Click on "Links" to access both Anatomy Reference Center and Imaging Reference Center.
  • Anatomy Reference Center  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Click on "Links" at the top of the page to access Anatomy Reference Center. This resource shows normal anatomy in drawings, descriptions, and images (e.g. CT and MRI).
  • Artemis Literary Resources SEE Literature Resource Center  Icon  Icon  Icon
  • ArtNC  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Designed for educators, students, and anyone interested in looking at and learning from works of art.

B

  • Banking Information Source  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Brings together leading journals from the most important international markets and allows you to analyze and compare articles from 360 full-text sources in a manner of seconds
  • Business Link North Carolina  Icon  Icon
    A free service of the NC Department of Commerce

C

  • Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)  Icon  Icon  Icon
    This database, with 600 full text titles, is the most comprehensive Canadian reference collection available today
  • Canadian Newsstream  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Offers unparalleled access to the full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers
  • CINAHL with Full Text  Icon  Icon
    The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is the best place to start your search for nursing, physical therapy, and athletic training. Use the limit options to focus your searching or use the CINAHL Heading to create precise, comprehensive searches.
  • Cochrane Library  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Contains full-text reviews and protocols for evidence-based medicine
  • Compendex  Icon  Icon
    Compendex is the most comprehensive database of engineering research all engineering disciplines. Dates of coverage are 1970-present.
  • CQ Researcher Online  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    A collection of single-themed reports with in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues; each report is 12,000 words
  • CQ Weekly  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    In-depth reports on congressional issues, the status of bills in play, committee and floor activity, debates and roll-call votes
  • CRC Engineering Ebooks  Icon  Icon
    Around 800 ebooks about general and industrial engineering
  • Crime in North Carolina (Uniform Crime Report)  Icon  Icon  Icon
    The North Carolina Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program is part of a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort administered by the Federal Bureau of Investigation
  • Criminal Justice Periodicals Index  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    Citations, abstracts, and full text of titles in law enforcement, social work, and other criminal justice fields

D

  • Digital NC  Icon  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Explore original materials from libraries, museums, and archives across North Carolina.
  • DynaMed  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    A point-of-care reference tool with clinically organized summaries on more than 3,000 topics

E

  • eBooks on EBSCOhost Collection  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Digital books; includes fiction, non-fiction, reference titles; titles are also accessible from the Online Catalog
  • eBrary  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Digital books; includes fiction, non-fiction, reference titles. Titles are also accessible from the Online Catalog.
  • Embase  Icon  Icon
    Embase covers biomedical information with more than 30 million records in the system and more than 8,500 journals indexed. Embase is particularly strong in the area of pharmaceutical and medical device development. Users may use the search options to design a PICO question as part of their search.
  • English Poetry  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    Contains essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th; 160,000+ poems from 1,250+ poets;
  • ERIC  Icon  Icon
    ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an online database maintained by the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences. It contains 1.5 million bibliographic records. Only about one quarter of the citations include full-text, so you'll need to consult 360 Link to determine whether the article is available in full-text in one of the DML databases.

F

  • Faber Poetry Library  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    Collection of poetry by some of the most influential poets of the 20th century – from Arthur Rimbaud to Sylvia Plath; 140 volumes by 50 poets
  • Films on Demand  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.

G

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    25 reference e-books; authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas; links are also available in the Online Catalog

H

  • HeritageQuest  Icon  Icon  Icon  Icon
    A comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.
  • Home Grown eBooks Collection  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Millions of pages of curated primary source content, unlimited multi-user access and streaming audio and video. We also have a growing library of traditional publisher content including, fiction, graphic novels, comics, children's books, university press books and much more

I

  • Imaging Reference Center  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Click on "Links" on the top of the page to access Imaging Reference Center. Imaging Reference Center shows a variety of clinical presentations of human anatomy. The resource shows in CT, MRI, and ultrasound about 4,000 imaging diagnoses.
  • Infotrac Newsstand  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields
  • International Newsstream  Icon  Icon  Icon
    International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

J

  • JSTOR  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Full-text journal articles primarily in the areas of education, history, political science, sociology, business, public administration, economics, and law.

K

  • Karger Journals  Icon  Icon
    About 100 full-text journals in the health sciences
  • Knovel  Icon  Icon
    Knovel contains over a thousand searchable ebooks in many engineering areas. In addition, there are tools with interactive equations, a periodic table, and unit converter.

L

  • Learning Express Library  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Interactive online learning platform of practice tests & tutorials for academic and licensing tests; 29+ tests including ASFAB, GRE, Praxis, TOEFL; must create free account; tests may also be accessed through the Online Catalog
  • Liebert Online  Icon  Icon
    Provides full-text articles from more than 60 journals in the areas of life sciences, clinical medicine, biotechnology, CAM, environmental studies, and public health
  • Literature Criticism Online  Icon  Icon
    Covers literary topics, authors, and works, includes biographical essays, articles are from Gale's Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth Century Literary Criticism;
  • Literature Resource Center  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews. (Formerly known as Artemis Literary Resources.)

M

  • Media Collection  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Includes over 200 videos from PBS from series such as American Experience, American Masters, Frontline, and Ken Burns; titles are also accessible from the Online Catalog
  • Medline (PubMed)  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Service of the National Library of Medicine; 15 million+ citations from MEDLINE & other life science journals for bio-medical articles
  • Medline Plus  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    Health information from government agencies & health-related organizations; journals, encyclopedias, patient tutorials, & more
  • Mergent WebReports Industry Reports  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Industry profiles from various industries in North America, Latin America, Asia Pacific, and Europe
  • MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography  
      
      Icon
    Citations & abstracts for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics
  • Morningstar Library Edition  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    Data reports on 20,000 securities; additional reports on stocks and funds
  • MyiLibrary (eBooks)  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    Digital books; includes non-fiction and reference titles

N

  • N.C. State Center for Health Statistics  Icon  Icon
    High quality health information for better informed decisions and effective health policies
  • Natural Medicines  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine including dietary supplements and integrative therapies
  • Naxos Music Library  Icon  Icon
    World´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 101,110 CDs with more than 1,466,800 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire
  • NCJRS Abstracts Database  
      
      Icon
    Federally funded resource offering information on justice & substance abuse issues for research, policy & program development;
  • NCpedia  Icon  Icon  Icon  Icon
    An online encyclopedia about North Carolina, U.S.A. As of September 1, 2014, NCpedia included 6,656 entries and 6,958 images
  • North American Women’s Letters & Diaries  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters
  • North Carolina Periodicals Index  Icon  Icon
    Citations and abstracts to articles in North Carolina periodicals; arts, social sciences, and sciences; maintained at ECU

O

  • One Click Audio  Icon  Icon  Icon
    The world's largest independent publisher and distributor of unabridged audiobooks on cassettes, CDs, and downloadable
  • OneSearch  Icon  Icon
    Searches all of the digital resources to which MU subscribes at the same time
  • OneSource Global Business Browser  Icon  Icon
    In-depth business information on companies in North America, United Kingdom, Europe, Asia-Pacific as well as emerging markets, with the ability to search for companies by name, by geography or across industries.
  • Online Library of Liberty  Icon  Icon
    A public database offering full digital access to 1,200 classics on liberty and political philosophy from Plato to Karl Marx
  • Our State Magazine Collection  Icon  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Explore past issues of Our State, one of North Carolina's longest running and most popular magazines.
    First published in 1933, The State (as it was known until 1996) features stories about North Carolina's people, places, and history.
  • Ovid Nursing Full Text Plus  Icon  Icon
    Full-text database for more than 40 nursing journals
  • Oxford Journals  Icon  Icon
    Online access to all of the journals owned by Oxford, in areas such as medicine, humanities, social sciences, mathematics, and more
  • Oxford Reference Online Premium  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas. A core foundation of 135+ academic subject, language, and quotations dictionaries providing carefully vetted, trusted short-entry content.

P

  • Pronunciator  Icon  Icon
    Pronunciator is a fun and free way to learn any of 80 languages. You can learn any language, in virtually any other language. Plus, we have ESL for speakers of 50 non-English languages. Each language course has a minimum of 1,500 phrases to learn, and most have 10,000 phrases.
  • ProQuest Accounting & Tax Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    This database brings together global scholarly journals with other key resources for access to reliable information in this continuously evolving area of study. Quickly locate precise results from sources ranging from current news to professional and academic journal articles covering the trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, banking, and financial issues of the day.
  • ProQuest Arts & Humanities Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
  • ProQuest Asian & European Business Collection  Icon  Icon  Icon
    This database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.
  • ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Australia and New Zealand.
  • ProQuest Biology Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides access to a wide range of biology topics. The database includes just under 400 titles, with more than 325 available in full text
  • ProQuest Business Market Research Collection  Icon  Icon  Icon
    This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including
    -- Hoover's Company Profiles
    -- OxResearch from Oxford Analystica
    -- Snapshots.
  • ProQuest Career & Technical Education Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    The definitive source for vocational information. The database includes over 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text
  • ProQuest Central  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides access to millions of much-coveted full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, it also provides access to information not available in other aggregated resources
  • ProQuest Computing Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics
  • ProQuest Continental Europe Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many European countries.
  • Proquest Criminal Justice Database  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    Citations, abstracts, and full text of titles in law enforcement, social work, and other criminal justice fields
  • ProQuest East & Central Europe Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in East European and Central European countries.
  • ProQuest East & South Asia Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many East Asian and South Asian countries.
  • ProQuest Education Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Around 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text
  • ProQuest Entrepreneurship Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Brings together an unprecedented collection of full-text content for business researchers and students and entrepreneurs
  • ProQuest Environmental Science Collection  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM)
  • ProQuest Family Health Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Covers an enormous range of subjects of value in the public library context - from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry
  • ProQuest Health & Medical Collection  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE® indexing
  • ProQuest Health Management Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Coverage for around 800 key journals with over 4,500 Doctoral Dissertations and Theses, ProQuest Health Management provides users with the highest quality content, much of which is not available elsewhere
  • ProQuest India Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    ProQuest Indian Journals is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource providing full-text, scholarly journals, all published in India.
  • ProQuest Latin America & Iberia Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal.
  • ProQuest Library Science Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    This database allows you to search the full-text of leading library and information science journals. This collection provides full-text coverage of 125+ core titles.
  • ProQuest Linguistics Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
  • ProQuest Middle East & Africa Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries.
  • ProQuest Military Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. It includes around 550 titles, with more than 400 available in full-text
  • ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more
  • ProQuest Political Science Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Gives users access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
  • ProQuest Psychology Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research
  • ProQuest Public Health Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    This database provides access to the core literature in the field of public health.
  • ProQuest Religion Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Resource for religious studies programs and for anyone researching religious issues and perspectives
  • ProQuest Research Library  Icon  Icon  Icon
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects
  • ProQuest Science Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences
  • ProQuest Social Science Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Includes over 1000 titles, with the majority available in full text. It covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas
  • ProQuest Sociology Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more
  • ProQuest Telecommunications Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    An essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology. The database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text
  • ProQuest Turkey Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Turkey.
  • ProQuest U.K. & Ireland Database  Icon  Icon  Icon
    This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.
  • PsycArticles  Icon  Icon
    Full text coverage of 50+ peer-reviewed publications covering psychology, psychiatry, and related sub-topics
  • PsycINFO  Icon
    PsycINFO is an abstract (not full-text) database of psychological literature – psychology, psychiatry, neuroscience, and related sub-topics
  • PubMed  Icon  Icon
    Service of the National Library of Medicine; 15 million+ citations from MEDLINE & other life science journals for biomedical articles

R

  • ReferenceUSA  Icon  Icon  Icon
    The premier source of business and residential information for reference and research. ReferenceUSA is used by top libraries throughout the US for research, small business marketing, job searching and much more.

S

  • Sage Premier  Icon  Icon
    The Library subscribes to almost 800 full-text journals with Sage with particularly strong coverage in health sciences, education, justice studies, and rehabilitation. Dates included are 1999-present for most titles. The Library subscribes to all journals available.
  • Sanborn Maps North Carolina  Icon  Icon  Icon
    11,000 maps of 158 North Carolina towns & cities; scale is 50’:1”
  • SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)  Icon  Icon
    Covers market research and news for the Sports Business industry
  • Science Direct  Icon  Icon
    Science Direct contains more than 1,000 full-text health sciences, biology, and agricultural journals.
  • Science In Context  Icon  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Science in Context is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics
  • Simply Map  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Mapping software
  • SIRS Knowledge Source Package  Icon  Icon  Icon
  • SocIndex  Icon  Icon
    Sociology database including social work and criminal justice; includes a thesaurus; more than 700 books also included
  • SPORTDiscus  Icon  Icon
    Full-text database specializing in sports and sports medicine journals with more than 430 journals in full-text
  • SpringerLink  Icon  Icon
    Full-text database specializing in behavioral science, biomedical and life sciences, chemistry and materials science, earth and environmental science, mathematics, statistics, physics, and computing with more than 1,900 journals in full-text
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Over 1400 tables of data providing a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

T

U

  • US Newsstream  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Offers unparalleled access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world

V

  • Visible Body  Icon  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Click on "Links" on the top of the screen to reach Visible Body. Various modules including Anatomy & Physiology, Human Anatomy Atlas, Muscle Premium, Skeletal Premium, Physiology Animations, and Heart & Circulatory Premium help you lean about the human body.

W

  • WestlawNext (restricted access)  Icon  Icon
    Vast collection of statutes, case law materials, public records, & other legal resources + current news & business information
  • WestlawNext Campus Research  Icon  Icon
    A collection of case, statutory, administrative, and constitutional law for both federal and states; news; click on Company Investigator to get to the link for Hoovers' Company Records. NOTE: This resource does not always work in Google Chrome. Please use Firefox or Internet Explorer instead.
  • Wiley Online Library  Icon  Icon
    Collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities
  • WorldCat  Icon  Icon
    Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide; OCLC member libraries only; 57 million+ records
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip